Skip to content

Client Testimonials

We recently completed a large, new custom construction project with 4 Forty Four and were very happy with the process and the results. We have built houses before but this project was more complex and completely customized.

The result is spectacular and exceeded our expectations. This organization has a full, seamless capability from architecture through construction, finishes, and decor. The team was outstanding and added so much to our vision, critical choices, and the important details. We felt their passion for creating something special and that made this project truly enjoyable for us.

The quality level of the work was excellent and I had confidence that things were done right and costs were well managed. We made the right choice with 4 Forty Four.

~Mountain Majesty Homeowners- October 2019
View the Mountain Majesty Project Gallery

Susan & I would highly recommend 4 Forty Four for any home improvement project. They are easy to work with and very knowledgeable. 4 Forty Four is extremely dedicated to making a project vision become reality.

~Mr. Gizinski - March 2019

Our experience throughout the project was excellent. Everything progressed in a timely manner and the project was completed in the estimated timeframe. We were very impressed with our project manager, Preston Spencer. He was always available to discuss any thoughts and/or concerns that we might have about the project. And, he often went beyond his job description to keep the project moving in a timely manner in spite of the changes that we made as the project progressed.

We are extremely pleased with the finished product.

We highly recommend 4 Forty Four for any construction needs. Our experience was extremely positive from beginning to end.

~Morgan and Jack - January 2019

My husband and I have been very pleased with Four Forty Four. Very professional at every level right on to the contractors such as electricians, etc. All individuals involved were easy to work with and provided beautiful workmanship and quality attention to the details. We did not want a cookie cutter house, and Four Forty Four worked to make all of the special touches we wanted, come to life even better than we could have hoped for. We feel like they are family, including the workers who were up on the roof, doing the tough work. Wonderful group of people. And it just so happens that they build beautiful homes too!

~Stable View Homeowners - December 2018
View the Stable View Project Gallery

This company provides a professional, quality product, on schedule and within budget. I would use this company again without reservation and strongly recommend them to prospective clients.

~Wayne - September 2018

4 Forty Four was courteous and professional to work with on our project. Both Toma Fuller and Jacob van Buren were helpful on advising us on all the options for the work that was performed. Mark and I would highly recommend 4 Forty Four for all your construction needs. They are a professional organization and their talent in the construction industry highly surpasses all others. We are grateful for "a job well done!"

~Kappie and Mark - September 2018

Our experience has been exceptional. The finished project was even better than I expected. We thank everyone who helped work on the project.

~Kay- September 2018

Our project was a relatively modest one, and some construction firms would not have been interested in tackling it. However, we found 4 Forty Four to be responsive to our needs and highly professional in planning, scheduling, and conducting the work. The adjective that first comes to mind is trustworthy. The 4 Forty Four staff has both character and competence. We are pleased with the work and the manner in which it was done.

~Jack- September 2018

We absolutely loved building our house with the team at 4 Forty Four. From the very first meeting with Kevin and Ross, to the very last walkthrough in our completed home, these guys were laser focused on what WE wanted out of our home. They were very concerned about constructing a home that would reflect our personal tastes and satisfy our most basic needs. Truly, the end of our project is bittersweet.

The team at 4 Forty Four have really simplified the building process and have eliminated many headaches associated with this undertaking. We can truthfully say that we have no “horror stories” associated with the construction of our home. The preparation in office meetings and through "ideabooks” allowed for seamless transitions throughout the construction process. The smoothness at which our home was constructed was truly impressive. The weekly budget and Smartsheet updates helped us keep to our timeline and our budget. Ross was quick to alert us when we exceeded a budgeted allotment on a line item and was extremely helpful at identifying ways to make up the difference.

Ross is the best! I cannot imagine a better project manager. His composure and accommodating tone kept us calm throughout this notoriously stressful and overwhelming process. No matter our request, he would respond, "it's not a big deal". No request seemed impossible or too challenging. We valued all of the advice he offered throughout, and when we weren't sure about a decision we needed to make, he would always help guide us.

We are so happy in our new home! Many Thanks to Kevin Troyer, Ross Napier, and the team at 4 Forty Four for allowing us to “Live in our Dream!”

~The Bakers - Hideaway Owners - July 2018
View The Hideaway Project Gallery

4 Forty Four did a great job for us. Addressed all concerns and questions promptly. We were pleased with the finished product.

Mary - May 2018

We worked with 4 Forty Four on a large deck renovation (and other smaller projects) at our mountain house. Toma, our
project manager, was the consummate professional and handled things seamlessly from start to finish, communicating with us along the way. The project came out great, on-time and on-budget. I'd highly recommend 4 Forty Four.

Dan - February 2018

I recommend 4 Forty Four for any construction project, large or small, as they are a top notch building company. I have built several homes and additions and have never had such a pleasant, worry free, efficient experience as with 4 Forty Four. I will use them on my next project without a doubt.

Anonymous Client - February 2018

We have now completed two projects with 4 Forty Four. One was a large master bathroom remodeling project and the second involved adding a closet and full bath to our lower level (and other enhancements as well). In both instances, the Project Manager worked with us to develop and understand the budget, and we were kept well informed as the project progressed. The project foreman impressed us by always ensuring all work was done to the highest standards - no corners were cut. We now clearly have one of the most impressive master bathrooms in the area, and the completion of the downstairs bath and closet effectively enabled us to add an additional bedroom for when our family visits.

Daniel and Oris - January 2018

We had such a wonderful experience with 4 Forty Four building our dream home. The level of communication, attention to detail, and quality craftsmanship was apparent in everything step of the building process. 4 Forty Four made our first home building experience an enjoyable one and helped create a space that we will love for years to come!

Appalachian Farmhouse Homeowner - January 2018
View the Appalachian Farmhouse Project Gallery

Not knowing who to turn to for our newly purchased home total rennovation project, 4 Forty Four was reccomended by our realtor as one of a small handfull of contractors in our area that would provide good service. From the inital meeting and proposal, to the completion of the project, our experience with 4 Forty Four was exceptional. The service offered complemented our attention to detail. The project was professionally handled and we enjoyed and trusted the project managment team assigned to us. If we had to do it all over again, we would not have changed a thing, especially our contractor.

Caroline and John - December 2017​

Dear Kevin and the 4 Forty Four Team:

Tonight Doris and I are snug in our home which you and your company rebuilt for us after a fire. We have put up our Christmas tree and the decorations--and we have a fire going! It is an evening of reflection and celebration for us. We have been talking about our journey since our home burned last February. We remember, first of all, that you so graciously offered to rebuild our house for us. Of course, knowing you and your reputation, we jumped on that offer very quickly. You made some promises to us about the process and about the end result. It amazed us every step of the way that your performance exceeded every promise. You and your company made everything better than it was before. All of you gave us an almost daily report of the progress and asked us to feel free to make any suggestions that we thought of. Even though my desire to have a tree house was quickly shot down, we could hardly believe the beauty of the end result. There is no way we could adequately thank you for the investment you made, not only in our home--but in us as well. An additional bonus is that you saved us money along the way.

Ryan Hunter, our Project Manager, has become like a member of our family. He was so attentive to us and made sure that we understood each step that was being taken. There were some things that he explained to us over and over again, but he didn't seem to mind. We know that you are proud to have him as a member of your team. We are extraordinarily thankful that your company is so principled, so dedicated to excellence and so caring about the people that you serve. We feel like we were immeasurably blessed by the redemptive journey that you led us on. We literally could not be more pleased. We send our thanks, best wishes and blessings to all of you at 4 Forty Four. Thank you for coming into our lives and making a big difference.

With great appreciation,

Marshall - December 2017​

From start to finish- our experience with 4 Forty Four has been one of excellence, integrity and caring. Following our house fire, Kevin's words in our first meeting was prophetic: "I believe this will be a redemptive experience for you." Over and over again have been blessed to see this prophesy fulfilled--all because of the people and process at 4 Forty Four.

Doris - December 2017

We have never had a company that worked harder to please than Four Forty Four. They did a great job on our house in Blowing Rock. I highly recommend them.

Cordelia - December 2017

When we first decided to remodel our kitchen, there was a certain amount of anxiety that came along with making a decision on which contractor would be right for our project. We went through the process of interviewing several companies and knew right away that there was something different about the way 4 Forty Four operated. From the initial meeting all the way through completion, we enjoyed partnering with their complete team and working on our renovation. 4 Forty Four's utilization of SmartSheet kept us up to date with pictures and real time communication. The Skilled Tradesmen and Project Manager were easy to communicate with, billing was timely and we always knew where we stood on our budget. We will not hesitate to call them for our next project!

Holly - December 2017​
Blowing Rock, NC

I heartily recommend 4 Forty Four for consideration for your construction needs. Kevin and his Team did an excellent job on our addition and were a pleasure to work with.

Rob & Emily - December 2017​
Boone, NC

My husband and I have been very pleased with Four Forty Four. Very professional at every level right on to the contractors such as electricians, etc. All individuals involved were easy to work with and provided beautiful workmanship and quality attention to the details. We did not want a cookie cutter house, and Four Forty Four worked to make all of the special touches we wanted, come to life even better than we could have hoped for. We feel like they are family, including the workers who were up on the roof, doing the tough work. Wonderful group of people. And it just so happens that they build beautiful homes too!

Beth & Nash - November 2017

This was the second house we built in two years, 4 Forty Four was easy to work with and if we build another, I would insist on them doing the work.

John - February 2017

Our build with 4 Forty Four was our first custom home build and our first build "in the mountains". We had heard horror stories from acquaintances related to both custom home builds and mountain builds. The 4 Forty Four team proved those theories wrong on all fronts. From the initial team design meetings to the completion of our new home, the 4 Forty Four team was professional and responsive and built our dream home that exceeded our expectations. And as a bonus, we have new friends - from Kevin and his office staff to the work crews that were involved in our build. We would highly recommend them if you are interested in a quality home.

Refined Rustic Homeowner - January 2017
View the Refined Rustic Project Gallery

Working with 4 Forty Four was a pleasure. We were first-time home builders, and their level of expertise and attention to detail gave us great comfort and confidence. When any issues arose (as they inevitably will), they communicated openly and honestly with us--in a spirit of collaboration--in order to find the best solution possible. We would (and have!) highly recommend 4 Forty Four.

Meadowview Homeowner - January 2017
View the Meadowview Project Gallery

4 Forty Four repaired a leak inner roof beside the chimney. Ryan Hunter and his crew were professional, timely, and experienced.
Our roof was fixed on time and before the snow came! I will certainly use 4 Forty Four again.

Kenneth & Jess - Dec. 2016

Reliable home repair services are difficult to find. We were very pleased with the quality of work and professional Team of 4 Forty Four and would not hesitate to recommend this company for home repair needs.

Ann - May 2016

I would like to wholeheartedly recommend 4 Forty Four for any project in building or home maintenance that you might need! Their professionalism and eye for detail make any project one you can count on. You can count on whatever they say the project will cost and whenever they say it will be done, it will be done. Honesty, dependability and assurance are three things I will always connect with 4 Forty Four.

Betty Pitts

I just wanted you to know how pleased we are with the beautiful addition to our front porch. Ralph & the rest of your crew are so talented, kind and respectful. Now, I can enjoy being outside with my husband rain or shine. We appreciate you accommodating us so quickly. May God continue to bless you, your family, staff & business.

Love,
Wendy & Chris Estes

We have really enjoyed the professionalism and integrity of your team. I think we might have been nuts to launch into a remodel so soon after moving, but what could have been a nightmare turned out to be very pleasant because of your team.

Everyone was trustworthy, kept their work spaces clean, considerate of our needs, cared about our opinions and respected our property.

The tile work, specialty carpentry and lighting are all of the highest quality. Living in the house with the new improvements just makes me happy! I highly recommend your company and team to others with complete confidence. We hope to work with you again in the future for additional remodeling work. God Bless.

​Highly Satisfied Customer

Thank you,
Scott
Enjoy Your Day.

It was a pleasure working with 4 Forty Four. Everyone at the company was excited about our project and genuinely interested in completing it quickly and professionally. We frequently recommend 4 Forty Four to our friends and would certainly use them again.

Mike & Carol - August 2015
View the Blowing Rock Cottage Remodel

In the Spring of 2014 our Rotary Club and the Watauga Community Band began working together with the idea of creating an improved facility and new performance area in Blowing Rock Memorial Park. We had the desire to improve the park and a fairly significant amount of money to get it done, but little ability other than that to make it happen. Kevin Troyer of 4FortyFour and other community leaders volunteered their time and experience to guide this project from a dream to a fantastic reality.

During the Winter of 2015 plans for the new Rotary Gazebo were firmed up and proper approvals secured so that we were ready to build, hoping to be finished around Memorial Day and ready to go for the summer. The contract with 4FortyFour to build the Gazebo was signed on March 16. We had the ribbon cutting on May 21!!! During this 9 week period it was hard to go by the site without seeing folks busily at work, no matter how bad the weather.

It is always great to bring a project in ahead of time and on budget, but it has been especially great dealing with the extremely professional, very nice, community involved people at 4FortyFour. Thanks Kevin, Kenny, Cory and everyone else.

Jim Clabough - June 2015
Rotary Club of Blowing Rock
View the Blowing Rock Gazebo Project

I am writing because I want to thank you and your company formally for the wonderful job you did on the renovation of St. Mary’s and tell you how delighted we all are with the results. There are simply all positives and no negatives to describe the finished product as well as the process we and 4 Forty Four went through together to achieve the superb result we are enjoying today.

From the first meeting our committee had with you, you impressed us with your thorough communication and organization skills, demonstrating clearly to us that you would provide us with a solidly-run project and keep us carefully apprised of every detail. Your practice of providing weekly activity and financial reports proved as valuable as you had told us it would be in making sure we stayed within budget and got no surprises. Ross Napier, our project manager, is a capable, energetic, and affable individual, who did an excellent job of carrying out your company’s successful management approaches and assuring proper attention to every detail throughout the project. Ross deserves much of the credit for the project’s great success and for the beautiful finished product.

Every individual you assigned to our project was competent, hard-working, and congenial. I commend you on your success in surrounding yourself with the very highest quality individuals. In addition to Ross Napier, I also want to thank John Elian, Brandon Bettis, and Cory Bettis, who worked so closely with us for the entire extent of the project. What a terrific group of folks - always cheerful and pleasant and willing to listen with an open mind and a willing attitude to any and all our suggestions or concerns, and always turning out top quality work on whatever task was before them. There is clearly a desire for excellence and a passion for quality that seems to be part of your company culture and was apparent in each of the people who worked on our project.

Kevin, I know you must have lots of very happy customers because of all the things your company does so well, but I believe you will be hard pressed to find a more satisfied customer than this church on Main Street Blowing Rock. We are very fortunate to have discovered you.

My very best wishes for your continued success.

With deep appreciation and warm personal regards,

Horwood P. Myers, III - February 2015
Chairman, Organ Committee
St. Mary of the Hills Episcopal Parish
View the St. Mary's Renovation

4 Forty Four has done an outstanding job on our church addition at Wee Kirk Presbyterian in Linville; gave them only 2 months to do the work, they promised completion by May 1st, and, magically, it was completed!! I Recommend them highly.

Wee Kirk Parishioner - April 2011
View the Wee Kirk Renovation

When the time came for us to choose a contractor for a complete remodel of our mountain home, our choice was clear! 444, Inc. We had used them before to rebuild a deck on the house, and were thrilled with the personnel and the quality of the work. Several of our friends have had the same experience with the jobs that 444, Inc. did for them. Kevin has a team of professionals who just don't let you down. They always have a "can do" attitude. We recommend them highly.

Meredith and Terry Smith

We told 444 the results we wanted from our major mountain home rehab/expansion and they figured out how to get it done on-time and on-budget.

Alan Silver, Silver Business Development

I hired 444 Inc. to renovate our home in Blowing Rock and have recommended them to several clients. Their professionalism, attention to detail and clarity of communication make them someone with whom you genuinely enjoy doing business.

Maurice Williams

Value is timeless. In construction, the exchange of earnings for quality is the essence of satisfaction. Such condition does 444 Inc. provide on a consistent basis.

Lead by Kevin Troyer and talented superintendents the team listens then plans to meet the needs and wants of their clientele. Through experience and research, they offer choice selections for building consideration. Home efficiency is their hallmark. They perform in the field with responsibility and integrity. 444 Inc.—talents worthy of employment.

William H Miller, PE Pai

Thank you for taking care of our dream!

We are very happy with the log home you built for us. Your commitment to quality and detail is commendable. We went into this process with concerns because of all the horror stories you hear about construction contractors and all the problems associated with building a home. We were pleasantly surprised to have a very positive experience throughout the entire process. You always made it easy to work with you and to resolve whatever challenges came up with our project.

It was refreshing to deal with people who hold integrity and honesty very high in their list of values. You also completed our project in the agreed time and we never had to push you to finish.

We will strongly recommend 444 Inc to all our friends and family as a very reputable and trustworthy construction company.

Best Regards,

Raul and Alina Andrial

We LOVED working with your company. Everyone was so professional, so nice and dependable. We felt very confident that things would get done right, and your guys didn't disappoint. We would definitely call you again!

Sincerely,

Minda Hunter

Just a note to say thanks for the good job that you and your staff have done in building the three different log homes as well as the riding ring on our horse farm. Your staff was courteous, professional and the workmanship was excellent. As you have already witnessed, have referred two other friends of mine to you and assure you that I will continue to refer business your way when the opportunity presents itself.

Your honesty and professionalism is very refreshing in today's business environment.

Raul R. Garcia,
Executive Vice President, SG Private Banking (Suisse) S.A.

I have represented 4 Forty Four, Inc. on several properties they have purchased and remodeled, and also new construction projects. They give careful consideration to a variety of perspectives and synthesize these ideas into exceptional craftsmanship and design. You want to live in a home that 4 Forty Four has been a part of creating.

Kathleen Austin

We chose 4 Forty Four, Inc. for our Blowing Rock remodeling because an acquaintance had used them for their Grandfather home but we had not seen their work. We were so pleased with them. They were very professional, courteous and caring. We would choose them again in a minute and gladly recommend them to friends in the Blowing Rock area.

Mary and Richard Hill, Blowing Rock, NC

We purchased a home in the village of Blowing Rock that needed a few things done to it to bring it up to the inspection standards. George had already made contact with a contractor in the area and this contractor, Kevin Troyer with 4 Forty Four, had come highly recommended by some of our friends, our realtor and several businessmen in the area. So we hired him to do the work that needed to be done after we closed on our new home.

In the meantime, George was called out of retirement to manage sales representatives in the state of Florida for a contract company. Hence, I, Lorraine, was left here on my own to deal with all that had to be done in moving and getting the repairs done to our new home.

Kevin Troyer and his staff and crews are the best ever. They are very professional and easy to be around. Great communicators. They were always prompt to the job, very detailed and particular in their work and cleaned up the area after each job was done.

With George still being out of town and things needing to be done that I am not capable of handling … Kevin and his crew have been and will continue to be only a phone call away.

Thanks Kevin for making this house into our new home!

George and Lorraine Ellis, Blowing Rock, NC

Scroll To Top